Fire Protection District

The City of Edgerton and the outlying rural area are served by the Edgerton-Trimble Fire Protection District. The district is made up of volunteer firefighters and emergency medical personnel.

Edgerton-Trimble Fire Protection District
Purpose Statement:

The purpose of this organization shall be to provide fire protection, rescue, emergency medical care, and fire safety education within the Edgerton-Trimble Fire Protection District, and to provide mutual aid assistance to other departments and local government agencies.

Mission Statement:

To promote life safety and reduce human suffering to the citizens and visitors of the Edgerton-Trimble Fire Protection District. To achieve this goal through public education and fire prevention programs. We shall seek to minimize the results of fire, medical or rescue emergencies and disasters in this District. To understand that each firefighter is valuable and to maximize each person’s potential. To serve our District with professionalism, excellence and devotion to duty. To strive for the future, never forgetting the past.


The District provides fire and emergency medical services from two stations. Station 1 is at 500 Belt Avenue in Edgerton. Station 2 is at 400 S 169 Highway in Trimble. The Fire District is comprised of approximately 61 square miles, including portions of Platte, Clinton, and Buchanan counties, and has responsibility over some northern portions of Smithville Lake.


The District is a tax-supported political subdivision, governed by a board consisting of three directors, each of whom are elected by public vote of the registered voters residing within the district boundaries. Current board members are Mark Fisher, Ray Crowder and Bill Rogers.

The board of directors meets at 9 a.m. on the second Saturday of each month at Station No. 1, with the exception of the June meeting, which is held at Station No. 2, 400 N. 169 Highway, Trimble, Mo. The public is encouraged to attend. Meeting notices are posted no less than 24 hours in advance of each meeting on the office entry door of Station 1 in compliance with the Missouri Sunshine Law.

Additional information may be obtained by contacting Chief Rod Deckman via email at
For administrative information or to be placed on the agenda to speak at a board meeting, contact board Secretary/Treasurer Becky Sellars at or by phone, 816-227-9662.

Visit the Fire District’s website at